

SDAYC DINNER MEETING MINUTES October 19, 2023 at Mission Bay Yacht Club

- 1. The meeting was called to order by Commodore Wayne Strickland at 7:00pm.
- 2. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by SDAYC Secretary Don Bedford.
- 3. Commodore Strickland called for recognition of the host club Mission Bay Yacht Club.
- 4. Introduction of Commodore from MBYC Commodore Steve Cooper.
- 5. Commodore Cooper introduced his officers.
- 6. Commodore Cooper introduced the MBYC Chef and staff.
- 7. The Toast was presented by Mike Poltorak.
- Commodore Strickland then made a motion for approval of the September meeting minutes; motion made, seconded, and approved.
- 9. New Business
- a) Bill Edwards presented the slate for the 2024 SDAYC Board:
 - Jr Staff Commodore, Wayne Strickland, CYC
 - Director, Peter Hunt of NYCSD
 - Treasurer, Dave Murree of CCYC
 - Jr Director, Jenee Gillam-Ray of MBYC
 - Sr Director, Sandra Sherman of SWYC
 - Rear Commodore, Mark Mallaby of OYC
 - Vice Commodore, Jerelyn Biehl of SDYC
 - Commodore, Cleve Hardaker of SGYC
 - b) The slate will be voted on at the November meeting
 - c) Pete Curtin Sportsmanship Award, awarded to George Hirshland for loaning sails to



SDAYC DINNER MEETING MINUTES October 19, 2023 at Mission Bay Yacht Club

Transpac competitors from CMA who had their sails stolen

c) Jerelyn presented the Alonzo de Jessop award nominees: John Adriany of SDYC and Kiran Bisaccia of SMYC. Ballots will be handed out at the November meeting to be completed and handed in.

d) November will also be when the month of the SDAYC dinner for each club is chosen

- 10. Port Captain panel discussion commenced
- 11. Next meeting on CCYC, November 16th
- 12. Meeting Adjourned 8:50 pm

Commodore Wayne Strickland

Secretary Don Bedford