

- 1. The meeting was called to order by Commodore Wayne Strickland at 7:00pm.
- 2. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by SDAYC Vice Commodore Cleve Hardaker.
- 3. The Toast was presented by Staff Commodore Mike Durgin.
- 4. Commodore Strickland called for recognition of the host club Coronado Cays Yacht Club.
- 5. Introduction of Commodore from CCYC Vice Commodore Rome Ventura.
- 6. Vice Commodore Ventura introduced her officers.
- 7. Vice Commodore Ventura introduced the guest speaker, Jenn Cooper.
- 8. Commodore Strickland introduced past SDAYC Commodores.
- Commodore Strickland then made a motion for approval of the October meeting minutes; motion made, seconded, and approved.
- 10. Commodore Strickland asked for reports
- a) Don Bedford No Report.
- b) Sandra Sherman SDAYC Yachtswoman of the Year had two nominations, one from SDYC and one from CYC. Her selection committee chose Anne David as recipient.
- c) Herbert Brown The Jr Yachtsperson of the Year had five nominations. His selection committee chose Preston Miller as the recipient.
- d) Jerelyn Biehl She handed out ballots for the voting of the Alonzo de Jessop Award, to be collected before the end of the evening.
- e) Cleve Hardaker The 2024 SDAYC Calendar was our to the publisher and will be distributed next month. The '24 Yachtsman of the year had two nominations, from CYC and SDAYC. His committee chose Willem van Way. Cleve asked for a vote to broaden the scope of the nominations



for the award. The motion passed.

- f) Wayne Strickland The SDAYC Ramsey Award was awarded to Bill Edwards.
- g) Bill Edwards Asked for a moment of silence. The Veteran's Day boat parade was well attended. The Parade of Lights is looking for picket boats.
- 11. Commodore Strickland asked for reports:
- a) CCYC VC Ventrua reported Dec 9 will be caroling at the club and all are invited
- b) CYC Commodore Schelkun reported the Interlatio0nal Masters was won by Scott Harris. Scott and the CYC team also finished 4<sup>th</sup> in the Lipton Cup. Their new Board was just voted in and in December the junior Luff-in and Perry Series will be hosted by CYC.
- c) MBYC VC Dryden introduced members in attendance. She said the new board will be installed at the installation dinner on 12/2. They are currently renegotiating a lease extension with the City. They had 150 days of racing at mbyc in 2023.
- d) Navy Commodore Ty Keith introduced members in attendance. Their Commodore's Ball will be on the 18<sup>th</sup> at CCYC.
- e) OYC SC Mark Malaby introduced members in attendance. Last Saturday was their installation of the new Board. They will be hosting Marines for Thanksgiving and taking them out on the bay.
- f) SDYC Mike Neal said Tayler Sinks won the Lipton Cup, Rolex Cup, and Dutch Shoe. The Hot Rum race #2 is coming up on Saturday.
- g) SGYC Don Aiken introduced members in attendance and said that \$8,000 had been sent to the Lahana YC recovery fund
- h) SWYC Deb Kahler Introduced members in attendance. Their Member's Meeting will be



tomorrow night to vote in their new Board. She made a donation to RBOC and encouraged all incoming Commodores to enter the Commodore's Challenge next year.

- i) PLYC Commodore Paul Farrel reported on their Duck Derby with 36 boats in attendance each Friday.
- j) SMYC Robert Gonzales introduced members in attendance. Presented the HooRah trophy to Ty Keith.
- k) NOSA Director JoAnn Sedgwick said theat Newport to Ensenada race registration opens December 4<sup>th</sup>.
- IOBG Dist. 15 Mike Kirchgestner introduced members in attendance. He Thanked NYCSD for their member appreciation dinner. They elected their new Board and their change of watch will be at the December SDAYC meeting. The Treasurer position is still open.
- m) ABC Shaun McArdle reminded all that they provide education courses to boaters.
- 12. New Business -
- a) Commodore Strickland read through the order for each YC to select their 2024 month to host the SDAYC dinner(s). They are:
  - Jan Dark
  - Feb SDYC
  - Mar SWYC
  - Apr OYC
  - May Navy
  - Jun CCYC
  - Jul CYC
  - Aug Dark
  - Sep SWYC
  - Oct SGYC
  - Nov MBYC
  - Dec SGYC



- Jerelyn then anounced the winners of the Jessop Award John Adriany of SDYC and Kiran Bisaccia of SMYC.
- 14. Bill Edwards read through the slate for SDAYC Board for 2024:
  - Jr Staff Commodore, Wayne Strickland, CYC
  - Director, Peter Hunt of NYCSD
  - Treasurer, Dave Murree of CCYC
  - Jr Director, Jenee Gillam-Ray of MBYC
  - Sr Director, Sandra Sherman of SWYC
  - Rear Commodore, Mark Mallaby of OYC
  - Vice Commodore, Jerelyn Biehl of SDYC
  - Commodore, Cleve Hardaker of SGYC

He anounced they will be voted in by acclimation at the December meeting. Bill also announced that

Chuck Bowers and Cathy are the Picket Boat Stars for 2023!

15. Meeting Adjourned 8:42 pm.

Commodore Wayne Strickland

Secretary Don Bedford