

SDAYC 2021 December Meeting Minutes

December 9, 2021 hosted by Coronado Cays Yacht Club

The meeting was called to order at Call to Order by Commodore Dianna Durgin at 7:10pm

The Pledge of Allegiance was held followed by a toast from SDAYC Staff Commodore Mike Durgin.

Coronado Cays YC Commodore Jerry Rosenbusch introduced his Board and welcomed all.

Commodore Durgin then introduced those SDAYC Staff Commodores present: Joann Pine-1993, Pete Curtin -2007, Jeanne Irwin – 2008, Kathy Smith -2011, Terri Manok -2014, Mike Durgin – 2015, Bill Sedgwick – 2018 and Mike Poltorak – 2020. Aimee Smitherman was also recognized for Eric – 2016.

The minutes from the November 18, 2021 meeting were approved as distributed.

SDAYC Board of Directors were then introduced with their reports:

Secretary Jerelyn Biehl – Club officer information forms will be distributed in January.

Treasurer Margo Hemond – not in attendance

Jr Director Phil Kinnison – no report

Sr. Director Jim Murtland – not in attendance

Jr Staff Commodore Mike Poltorak – no report

Rear Commodore Wayne Strickland – he is proud to present the Jessop award winners their trophies later in the program.

Vice Commodore Bill Edwards –2022 Calendars are on the table with more arriving later for distribution. The Parade of Lights will be Dec 12 & 19. The Rear Commodores reception will be March 13, 2022.

Commodore Dianna Durgin – no report.

A Roll Call of Member, Associate, Affiliate and Liaison Clubs and announcements was conducted:

Regular Member Clubs

Coronado Cays Yacht Club – Commodore Jerry Rosenbusch reported their Dec 11 Chili dinner and Parade of Lights with proceeds to FOCUS will be held. 2022 will be CCYC's 50th anniversary.

Coronado Yacht Club – Commodore Harper Hatheway acknowledged Jessop award winner Jaime McArthur who spoke on the KMAC accessible sailing in San Diego.

SDAYC 2021 December Meeting Minutes

Mission Bay Yacht Club –Commodore Jim Day announced their new Board was installed last week. Their parade of lights will also be Dec 11 with the Bahia Belle caroling. MBYC will be undergoing a remodel of their main clubhouse in 2022.

Navy Yacht Club San Diego – Commodore Jeni Lench introduced club members in attendance.

Oceanside Yacht Club – Commodore Herbert Brown reported their boat parade will be Dec 11 and their Jr sailing and Senior sailing has done extremely well this year.

San Diego Yacht Club – Commodore Mike Morton announced the annual meeting & election of the Board Monday, December 13.

Silver Gate Yacht Club – Cleve Hardaker spoke of the Schooner Cup on April 2 and the Navy Maine benefit as well as hosting the NOSA finish on April 24. They will also host the annual Wheelchair Regatta in 2022.

Southwestern Yacht Club –Vice Commodore Debbie Kahler reported their Commodore's Ball was held last week. Dec 21 will be the clubs boat decoration and this weekend is the Santa Claus and Santa Paws event.

Associate Member Clubs

Chula Vista Yacht Club – not in attendance

Cortez Racing Association – Rear Commodore Chuck Bowers wished all Happy Holidays.

Point Loma Yacht Club – Commodore Tim Sanders outlined their December events.

San Diego Mission Bay Boat & Ski Club – not in attendance

Santa Margarita Yacht Club –Commodore Susan Rodriguez reported they are looking forward to a good 2022.

Affiliate Member Clubs

Convair Sailing Club – not in attendance

San Diego Cruisers Assn -not in attendance

Liaison Members

RBOC – Cleve Hardaker reported that 2022 will be a long session in Sacramento. Jan 13 will be a meeting at LBYC.

San Diego Catalina Assn – not in attendance

Pacific Coast Yachting Assn – not in attendance

NOSA –Joanne Sedgwick reported that entries opened December 1 for the Newport-Ensenada race with an April 2 start.

SCYA - no report

IOBG -Kathy Smith reported on the Jan 23 Yacht Management Seminar

America's Boating Club: no report

2021 Annual Awards:

Yachtswoman of the Year: Piper Holthus – SDYC. Approved by acclamation Yachtsman of the Year: Kyle Vanderspek – MBYC. Approved by acclamation

Hartley Jr Yachtsman of the Year: Shea McGrath – MBYC. Approved by acclamation.

SDAYC 2021 December Meeting Minutes

Alonzo de Jessop: Jaime McArthur -CYC; Mike Dorgan – SDYC; James Gartland – SD

Lifeguard Chief.

John Rumsey Award: Bruce Golison - SDYC

Dismissal of 2021 Board of Directors

JAG Jeff Laveson dismissed the 2021 Board. Commodore Durgin presented each Board member with a gift of thanks.

New Business:

Installation of Officers by JAG Jeff Laveson

Commodore: Bill Edwards (Navy YC SD)

Vice Commodore: Wayne Strickland (Coronado YC) Rear Commodore: Phil Kinnison (Silvergate YC)

Treasurer: Margo Hemond (SWYC) Secretary: Don Bedford (MBYC) Senior Director: Jerelyn Biehl (SDYC) Junior Director: Herbert Brown (OYC)

Jr Staff Commodore: Dianna Durgin (CCYC)

Commodore Edwards presented Staff Commodore Durgin with a gift of appreciation.

Thanks were given to CCYC and Commodore Rosenbusch for a nice evening.

The next meeting will be held February 17, hosted by Mission Bay YC with attire dress grey.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:15 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Jerelyn Biehl
SDAYC Secretary

Dianna Durgin
Commodore