ILYA Hall of Fame - 2010 presented by ILYA Bilge Pullers



The ILYA Hall of Fame was organized in 2002, the brainchild of Bilge Puller's past Admiral Dick Casper. To date, thirty ILYA competitors and contributors have been honored in the Hall of Fame.

The process of electing an honoree is an elegant one and begins with nominations from any ILYA member. These nominations are forwarded to any ILYA Past Commodore, or any

Bilge Puller's Past Admiral. From there, nominations go to a screening committee and, if qualified, are placed on the ballot as either an outstanding contributor or an outstanding competitor. The ballot is then sent to all Bilge Puller Past Admirals and ILYA Past Commodores who are then asked to vote.

In addition, qualified nominees from the first half-century of the ILYA's existence can be placed into the Hall of Fame by a unanimous vote of the Historian Committee. This committee, made up (no surprise here) of Past Admirals and Past Commodores, seeks to fill the void where the memories of our current electors leave off.

2004 Inductees:

Art Best, Cedar Lake (Wis.) Yacht Club
John Buckstaff, Oshkosh Yacht Club
John O. Johnson, White Bear Yacht Club
Ed Malone, Oshkosh Yacht Club
Harry "Buddy" Melges, Jr., Lake Geneva Yacht Club
Maynard Meyer, Pewaukee Yacht Club
Jack Ordway, White Bear Yacht Club
William "Curley" Perrigo, Pewaukee Yacht Club
John Pillsbury, Jr., Minnetonka Yacht Club
Ernst Schmidt, Lake Geneva Yacht Club
Dr. Otto L. Schmidt, Lake Geneva Yacht Club
John W. Taylor, White Bear Yacht Club

2006 Inductees:

Peter Barrett. Pewaukee Y. C. and Mendota Y. C. Harold Koch, Pewaukee Yacht Club Edmund Pillsbury, Minnetonka Yacht Club Nat Robbins, Minnetonka Yacht Club Walter Sprinkman, Cedar Lake (Wis.) Yacht Club

2008 Inductees:

William Bentsen, Lake Geneva Yacht Club Gordon Bowers Jr., Minnetonka Yacht Club Jule Hannaford III, White Bear Yacht Club Dr. Tom Hodgson, White Bear Yacht Club Gordon Lindemann, Pine Lake Yacht Club Jerry Huse, Okoboji Yacht Club Jane Pegel, Lake Geneva Yacht Club

2009 Inductees:

John Hunt, Minnetonka Yacht Club Arnold Meyer, Pewaukee Yacht Club

2010 Inductees:

Wally Schmidt, Okauchee Lake Yacht Club Jack (Snake) Schneider, Nagawicka Lake Yacht Club Charles (Snuffy) Schneider, Nagawicka Lake Yacht Club Dick Casper, Pine Lake Yacht Club The first seven elections to the Hall of Fame have produced a group of honorees that is extraordinary. Here, with the briefest of introductions, are the inductees that were honored at the 2010 Winter Inland:

Walter Schmidt (Okauchee Lake Yacht Club)

Schmidt's record of service to the ILYA is the equal of any. He served at every level of the ILYA, including Commodore from 1977-1978. Year Book Dedication 1981. His service on the Appeals and Legal Committees is legendary in its tenure. As an outstanding C-scow competitor, Wallie won three C Invitational, six WYA Championships, and was invited to



every C Blue Chip from its inception until his retirement in 1985. Elected Commodore of the WYA and Okauchee Yacht Club, and Admiral of the Bilge Puller.



Richard Casper (Pine Lake Yacht Club)

One of the original members of the Bilge Pullers, Casper was elected Admiral and served from 1965-66. At Pine Lake, he was both a class E champion and Commodore. At the end of his competitive career, Casper was a regular race management volunteer. As an ILYA Director, Casper began his service in 1974, and was elected ILYA Secretary in 1977. In 2002, Casper created the ILYA

Hall of Fame, which has become the association's most meaningful recognition.

Charles "Snuffy" Schneider (Nagawicka Lake Yacht Club)

Along with his brother, "Snuffy," Snake is one of the most beloved characters in ILYA history. Their record of service to the Inland race management is unequalled, and spanned more than four decades—from Nagawicka Yacht Club's first race committee in 1961, to the Soling World Championships in 2001 and beyond. Snuff and Snake were ILYA Members of

the Year in 2001. Both served as the association's Measurers from 1990-2000. They are remembered as two of the most dedicated and unselfish race officers in the ILYA.



Jack "Snake" Schneider (Nagawicka Lake Yacht Club)

Along with his brother, "Snuffy," Snake is one of the most beloved characters in ILYA history. Their record of service to the Inland race management is unequalled, and spanned more than four decades—from Nagawicka Yacht Club's first race committee in 1961, to the Soling World Championships in 2001 and beyond. Snuff and Snake were ILYA Members of the Year in 2001. Both served as the association's Measurers from 1990-2000. They are remembered as two of the most dedicated and unselfish race officers in the ILYA.