ILYA Hall of Fame - 2009 presented by ILYA Bilge Pullers



The ILYA Hall of Fame was organized in 2002, the brainchild of Bilge Puller's past Admiral Dick Casper. To date, twenty-six ILYA competitors and contributors have been honored in the Hall of Fame.

The process of electing an honoree is an elegant one and begins with nominations from any ILYA member. These nominations are forwarded to any ILYA Past

Commodore, or any Bilge Puller's Past Admiral. From there, nominations go to a screening committee and, if qualified, are placed on the ballot as either an outstanding contributor or an outstanding competitor. The ballot is then sent to all Bilge Puller Past Admirals and ILYA Past Commodores who are then asked to vote.

In addition, qualified nominees from the first half-century of the ILYA's existence can be placed into the Hall of Fame by a unanimous vote of the Historian Committee. This committee, made up (no surprise here) of Past Admirals and Past Commodores, seeks to fill the void where the memories of our current electors leave off.

The first six elections to the Hall of Fame have produced a group of honorees that is extraordinary. Here, with the briefest of introductions, are the inductees that were honored at the 2009 Winter Inland:

Arnold Meyer, Sr. (Pewaukee Yacht Club)

Meyer was the genius behind a small group of sailors that laid out the original dimensions for E scow. In his time, he was one of the most influential innovators in scow sailing, developing the flat mast, designing tracks and clips for sails, and converted a gaff rigged C Boat to Marconi Rig—one of the first in the Inland to do so. He also developed the



idea of mast bands to limit sail size, and drew up the concept of the Skeeter ice boat. Meyer was the 1903 Class A Champion, steering Fred Pabst's Comet.

John Hunt (Minnetonka Yacht Club)

Commodore of the ILYA, 1967-68, Commodore of the Minnetonka Yacht Club in 1951-52. Long time USYRU Senior Race Officer and Judge, Hunt was best known for his long-time involvement in race management and judging. Hunt was affectionately known as one of the "Three Wise Men" who, along with his dear friends Art Best and Ed Malone, donated



hundreds of hours of service to judging in the 60s and 70s. Hunt was honored with the Bilge Pullers Cannon Trophy in 1982 and the Year Book dedication in 1975.