# **ILYA HAll of Fame - 2008**

# presented by ILYA Bilge Pullers



The ILYA Hall of Fame was organized in 2002, the brainchild of Bilge Puller's past Admiral Dick Casper. To date, twenty-four ILYA competitors and contributors have been honored in the Hall of Fame.

The process of electing an honoree is an elegant one and begins with nominations from any ILYA member.

These nominations are forwarded to any ILYA Past Commodore, or any Bilge Puller's Past Admiral. From there, nominations go to a screening committee and, if qualified, are placed on the ballot as either an outstanding contributor or an outstanding competitor. The ballot is then sent to all Bilge Puller Past Admirals and ILYA Past Commodores who are then asked to vote.

In addition, qualified nominees from the first half-century of the ILYA's existence can be placed into the Hall of Fame by a unanimous vote of the Historian Committee. This committee, made up (no surprise here) of Past Admirals and Past Commodores, seeks to fill the void where the memories of our current electors leave off.

The first five elections to the Hall of Fame have produced a group of honorees that is extraordinary. Here, with the briefest of introductions, are the inductees that were honored at the 2008 Winter Inland:

## Jerry Huse (Okoboji Yacht Club)



Huse served as Commodore of the ILYA from 1973 to 1974. He won the Pillsbury Cup in 1971. He was the first skipper in ILYA history to win the Class C Championship four times, in 1962, 1964, 1965, and 1971. At age 70, he placed fifth at the 1997 Centennial Regatta. Huse has won 22 major regattas overall in his career, including C Invitational and Regional

Regattas, the Interlake Championship (six times), and the C Blue Chip.

#### Gordon Bowers Jr. (Minnetonka Yacht Club)

Bowers is a five-time ILYA Champion in four classes, winning four championships in Class C and one each in Classes E, A, and MC. He has wins in both C and E Blue Chip Regattas and won the Pillsbury Cup in 1966. He twice won the US Singlehanded Championships and has many national regatta wins to his credit. Bowers was the 1988



Olympic women's coach in Seoul, and has been a successful sailmaker to ILYA sailors for 35 years.



#### Jule Hannaford III (White Bear Yacht Club)



Hannaford served as ILYA commodore from 1953 to 1954. Except for WWII service, he served as director from 1938 to 1954, and for many years on the Legal Committee. He helped forge a relationship between eastern E scows and the ILYA, and was a force in ongoing NAYRU racing rules revisions. Hannaford was ILYA Class E Champion in 1931, 1934,

1936, and 1940, and had top-5 finishes four more times between 1930 and 1939.

### Dr. Thomas Hodgson (White Bear Yacht Club)

Hodgson served as ILYA commodore from 2006 to 2007, having served continuously on the Board of Directors since becoming an ILYA measurer in 1985. He wrote the ILYA's history in 1997 and co-authored the organization's first comprehensive race management manual. He has served as race officer or judge in ILYA regattas every year since 1974. Hodgson was



voted 1998 Member of the Year and elected Admiral of the Bilge Pullers in 2000.

#### Gordon Lindemann (Pine Lake Yacht Club)



Lindemann won ILYA Class E Championships in 1958 and 1960, and was a three-time E Scow National Champion. In 1967, he won the World 5.5 Meter Championship. He was invited as the Mystery Guest at the 1969 E Blue Chip and won the regatta. Lindemann was the Pine Lake Class E Champion twelve times in his career, and was responsible for

starting the Pine Lake Sailing School.

#### Jane Pegel (Lake Geneva Yacht Club)

Pegel is a three-time Rolex Award winner as outstanding yachtswoman in the world. She is the greatest skipper in the history of the M-16 fleet, with eleven ILYA championships between 1960 and 1994. She began her ILYA championship career in 1948, winning the Class X Regatta, and is also a two-time winner in



Class C. Pegel is the 1964 Adams Cup winner, a world-class iceboat sailor, and has twice won the ILYA's Pillsbury Cup.

#### William Bentsen (Lake Geneva Yacht Club)

Bentsen won three consecutive ILYA M-20 Class Championships from 1969 to 1971. He won Olympic bronze in 1964 and the gold



medal in 1972. He was a pioneer in revising the rules of sailing to their current form, and has long served on ISAF and US Sailing Racing Rules and Appeals Committees. Bentsen is respected worldwide as one of the most influential and knowledgeable people on the subject of yacht racing rules.