ILYA HAII of Fame - 2006

presented by ILYA Bilge Pullers



The ILYA Hall of Fame was organized in 2002, the brainchild of Bilge Puller's past Admiral Dick Casper. To date, seventeen ILYA competitors and contributors have been honored in the Hall of Fame.

The process of electing an honoree is an elegant one and begins with

nominations from any ILYA member. These nominations are forwarded to any ILYA Past Commodore, or any Bilge Puller's Past Admiral. From there, nominations go to a screening committee and, if qualified, are placed on the ballot as either an outstanding contributor or an outstanding competitor. The ballot is then sent to all Past Admirals and Past Commodores who are then asked to vote for up to 10 nominees in each category. Any nominee receiving a vote on 70% of the ballots qualifies.

In addition, qualified nominees from the first half-century of the ILYA's existence can be placed into the Hall of Fame by a unanimous vote of the Historian's Committee. This committee, made up (no surprise here) of Past Admirals and Past Commodores, seeks to fill the void where the memories of our current electors leave off.

How you can be involved:

All members of the ILYA can participate in the nomination process. Simply contact any Past Commodore of the ILYA, or Past Admiral of the ILYA Bilge Pullers. Any biographical information you can provide would be helpful. All names will be forwarded to the screening committee for consideration.

The first four elections to the Hall of Fame have produced a group of honorees that is extraordinary. In the near future, you will be able to read more about these extraordinary sailors on the ILYA web site. Here, with the briefest of introductions, are the inductees that were honored at the Winter Inland:

Edmund Pillsbury (Minnetonka Yacht Club)



Pillsbury was one of the premier A scow sailors in both the pre- and post-World War II ILYA. A seven-time Class A Champion, he won championships in 1933-35, 1946-48, and 1950. In his streak of championships between 1935 and 1948, Pillsbury won 15 of the 18 races sailed in those Annual Regattas, and never finished out of the top three.

Nat Robbins (Minnetonka Yacht Club)

Elected Commodore in 1975. Robbins entered his first ILYA regatta in 1957—the ILYA E Championship, and won it by capturing the last race. He won ILYA Championships again in 1966 and 1971, and also finished runner-up three times. In between his ILYA wins, he captured the 1961 NCESA regatta and won the Blue Chip in 1968.



John O. Johnson (White Bear Yacht Club)



Founded Johnson Boat Works in 1896 and is considered one of the true pioneers of scow design. In 1934, Johnson was commissioned by the ILYA to create the Cub boat's basic design. He designed the D and Y scows, which became sanctioned ILYA classes. Johnson crewed for many ILYA champions in the Corinthian era of ILYA sailing.

Peter Barrett (Pewaukee and Mendota Yacht Clubs)

ILYA Champion in A-scow in 1978. Competed in three Olympic Games, winning the Silver medal in the Finn class in 1964, and Gold (with Lowell North) in Stars in 1968. Won 470 Nationals, Finn North Americans, and the 1971 Chicago-Mackinac race. Regarded world-wide for his sportsmanship. Honored in the *Sailing World* Hall of Fame.



Walter Sprinkman (Cedar Lake Yacht Club)



Elected Commodore of the ILYA from 1942-1947. The driving force behind the founding of the Bilge Pullers and first Keeper of the Log and Lucre, serving from 1939 until elected Admiral in 1949. His remarkable record of service includes decades of race committee work and eight terms as Commodore of the Cedar Lake Yacht Club.

Harold Koch (Pewaukee Yacht Club)

Elected Commodore of the ILYA in 1959, and served as Admiral of Bilge Pullers from 1960-61. Koch and his *Thor of Oslo* set hundreds of ILYA race courses and starting lines. One of those rare, generous people who understood and perpetuated the traditions of the ILYA. At the time he became Commodore, he had been a part of the ILYA for 50 years.

