Notice of Race for Events Sanctioned by SLSC

2021

Reviewed/revised by Terry/Joanne Fraser 3/15/21

_						
c	Δ	n	Δ	ra	•	
u	ᆮ		C	ıa		

Safety:

It shall be the responsibility of each competitor to decide whether to start or continue a race.

Competitors are encouraged to wear a Coast Guard approved PFD at all times while on the water.

Each boat must carry safety equipment prescribed by her class rules and government regulations.

Organizing Authority and Rules:

The Saratoga Lake Sailing Club (SLSC) is the organizing authority for all club-sponsored racing.

All racing events sanctioned by the club are governed by the Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS), the prescriptions of the United States Sailing Association, these instructions, the rules of the individual classes and the Sailing Instructions for each event.

Eligibility:

Ensigns, Flying Scots, Kestrels, Sunfish, Lasers, MC Scows, Thistles and Y-Flyers compete as separate fleets in Sunday and Wednesday series. All other boats compete in the Open Class.

A competitor must register for competition by recording his/her name, crew, class of boat, and sail number of the boat being sailed in that race by one of the following methods for the Flag Lieutenant Race:

1. Use the sign-up sheet located on picnic table near the front steps or the sign-up sheet on a table near the boat lift.

- 2. Email information to race@sailsaratoga.org
- * Boats that have not been registered may not be scored.
- * Skipper that do not indicate the correct sail number of the boat they are sailing may not be scored.

Employees of the Club are considered Club members. They may compete in series racing during their employment. Their scores will count for all series racing and the overall championship.

SERIES RACES:

Sunday Series Dates:

Sunday racing is divided into three separate series by dates. Two races are scheduled each Sunday, both of which are part of the same series.

The Zephyr Series May 16 to and including June 27, 2021

The Robinson Series July 4 to and including August 15, 2021

The Kaydeross Series August 22 to and including October 3, 2021

Starting Times for Sunday Racing:

The start time is 2:00 pm. A thirty-minute shore signal of one long horn blast is scheduled for 1:30 PM. The warning signal for the first start is scheduled for 1:55 PM.

Racing for the day will not be abandoned before 3:30 pm. If no shore signal has been made at 3:30 pm, the RC may make a decision to abandon racing for the day or watch conditions if a breeze seems to be developing. If a shore signal has not been made by 4:00 pm, racing will be abandoned for the day. No starting sequence will begin after 4:30 pm.

Starting Procedure for Sunday Racing:

Races will be started using rule 26 of RRS. There are 2 starting divisions:

I: Lasers, Sunfish, Kestrels, MC Scows, Y Flyers, Open Class (Centerboard boats less than 16')

II: Flying Scots, Ensigns, Thistles, Open Class (Fixed keel, catamarans, boats 16' and longer)

Division starts are spaced by a 5-minute interval. Divisions will not be combined.

Wednesday Series Dates:

The Manning and Rice Series are sailed on Wednesday evenings. There will be no potluck suppers this year until and when it is deemed safe to begin by the New York State Health Department and the SLSC Board.

The Manning Series May 12 to and including August 25, 2021

The Rice Series Sept. 1 to and including October 13, 2021 which features short courses, multiple races and an informal atmosphere with post-race gatherings.

Starting Times for Wednesday Racing:

The Manning Series:

The start time is 6:30 pm. A thirty-minute shore signal is scheduled for 6:00 pm. The warning signal is scheduled for 6:25 pm. The decision to start a race will be based on the weather conditions, course selected and the availability of sufficient daylight for the race to proceed.

The Rice Series:

The start time is 6:00 pm. A thirty-minute shore signal is scheduled for 5:30 pm. The warning signal is scheduled for 5:55 pm. The RC will attempt to set short courses. Races may be run in the dark. It is the skipper's decision whether to race and when to stop.

Starting Procedure for Wednesday Racing Manning Series:

Races will be started using rule 26 of RRS. There are 2 starting Divisions:

Division I: Lasers, Sunfish, Kestrels, MC Scows, Y Flyers, Open Class (Centerboard boats less than 16')

Division II: Flying Scots, Ensigns, Thistles, Open Class (Fixed keel, catamarans, boats 16' and longer)

Starting Procedure for Wednesday Racing RICE Series:

All boats in all fleets will start together.

Season Championship Series:

This series will combine the results of the Zephyr, Robinson, Kaydeross and Manning Series and will determine the Overall, Junior, and Women's Season Champions.

The Rice Series will not be used as part of the Season Championship scoring.

Series Scoring:

For series scoring, eligible fleets will be scored separately and other boats will be scored in the Open Fleet divisions using the most current Portsmouth Yardstick. Two races will constitute a series. Additionally, for each series, all qualifying participants will be scored as a Handicap Fleet.

For the Season Championship Series, all boats will be scored as one fleet based on the Portsmouth Yardstick.

To qualify for a series or the Season Championship Series, a boat must finish one less than half the completed races rounded up.

New for 2021: Any skipper can earn a race credit for each race served on Race Duty up to a maximum of four race credits. The skipper will earn his/her end of year overall average score for each race credit as well as count each race credit as a "race sailed" in order to help qualify for a series and the season Overall Championship.

Race Scoring:

Each boat finishing a race and not being disqualified will be scored within their fleet as follows:

Finishing Place Score

First 1 point, Second 2 points, and so on.

A boat disqualified or did not finish will receive a score of the number of boats finishing plus one for that race in their fleet and in the Overall Handicap scoring.

Failure of the Race Committee to get accurate times for fleets starting after a general recall will NOT be grounds for protest.

For each series, the score for each boat will be the sum of her best races for the number of races required to qualify for that series. The lowest score wins.

For series when multiple races may be sailed on a single day or evening (Sunday Series & Rice Series), a boat does not need to sail every race that day or evening to be scored.

Ties (in all series)

Will be decided by comparing the results of all races the tied boats sailed against each other in that series. The boat placing higher than the other boat the most times will win. If the boats remain tied, then the scores of the tied boats in the overall handicap fleet will be compared for those races they sailed against each other.

The boat finishing with a lower overall score for those races will win the tie break. If the tie remains and the boats did not sail against each other in any race of that series, their qualifying series scores in the overall handicap portion of that series will be compared and the boat with the lower overall score will win the tiebreak.

Prizes

Will be awarded to qualifying skippers and crews in the Sunday, Manning and Rice Series. There may be Overall Prizes in each series.

The top Junior skipper will be awarded the Murray Hollister Trophy.

The Murray Hollister Trophy:

This award given to the Junior skipper who has met the following conditions:

- * In high school or graduated in June of the season of consideration.
- * If sailing with crew, the crew is in high school or graduated in June of the season of consideration.
- * Has sailed in at least eleven regular Sunday or Wednesday evening races (if more than eleven have been sailed, the best eleven will be scored).