District 3 Championship Commodore Chalmers Burn Memorial Trophy

Emblematic of:

Individual Snipe Championship of District 3

Donated by:

Crescent Sail Yacht Club and Detroit Divisional Fleet

Owned by:

SCIRA until such time as District 3 Snipe competition ceases, when it shall be returned to the Crescent Sail Yacht Club

Open to:

Members of District 3 only who have sailed 5 races in the District. All District officers and the top 3 boats from the previous District Championship will be automatically eligible to compete in the District regatta the next year. Each fleet may send at least 4 boasts. To get more than 4 boats from any fleet eligible, the fleet must have at least 25 active paid up members, or on a basis of 1 entry for every 5 boats registered. The host fleet can have 10 boats entered, or 50% of the host fleet, to a maximum of 15 boast, whichever is greater.

Regatta Conditions:

6 races should be scheduled. The first 3 would be for qualification, a minimum of 2 being required. If the Championship race has more than 40 boats competing, they will be split into 4 fleets to sail a round-robin of 3 races. The top half in the standing (up to a maximum of 24 boats) plus the previous year's winner, if present, then compete in a 3 race Chalmers Burns Championship Series; the remaining boat compete in a 3 race Dunphy Trophy Consolation Series.

Trophy Responsibility and Conditions:

Trophy insured and premiums and charges paid by winner of trophy. Returnable to succeeding host fleet in time for the championship regatta.

Revision of Deed of Gift:

By agreement of donors and SCIRA Rules Committee

- 1938 Henry Schutte, Manitowoc, Wisconsin
- 1939 Bill Gaterman, Manitowoc, Wisconsin
- 1940 William Gaterman, Oshkosh, Wisconsin
- 1941 Strep Kuehl, Oshkosh, Wisconsin
- 1942 Max Lauderback, Detroit River
- 1943-6 Not sailed
- 1947 Alan Levinson, Lake Wawasee
- 1948 Jim McCaffrey, Diamond Lake, Michigan
- 1949 Carl Zimmerman, Akron, Ohio
- 1950 Frank Levinson, Lake Wawasee
- 1951 Larry Wheeler, Akron, Ohio
- 1952 Carl Zimmerman, Akron, Ohio

- 1953 Frank Levinson, Lake Wawasee
- 1954 Alan Levinson, Lake Wawasee
- 1955 Alan Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1956 Dexter Thede, Grand Rapids, Michigan
- 1957 Harry Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1958 Harry Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1959 Lee Thompson, Akron, Ohio
- 1960 Dexter Thede, Grand Rapids, Michigan
- 1961 Harry Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1962 Harry Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1963 Alan Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1964 Jerry Jenkins, Detroit, Michigan
- 1965 Harry Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1966 Lee Kellershouse, Chicago, Illinois
- 1967 Jerry Jenkins, Detroit, Michigan
- 1968 Frank Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1969 Jerry Jenkins, Detroit, Michigan
- 1970 Harry Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1971 Harry Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1972 Don Hite, Lake Angelus, Michigan
- 1973 Frank Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1974 Don Hite, Lake Angelus, Michigan
- 1975 Jerry Thompson, Lake Angelus, Michigan
- 1976 Don Hite, Lake Angelus, Michigan
- 1977 Lou Dixon, Island Bay, Illinois
- 1978 Lou Dixon, Island Bay, Illinois
- 1979 Don Hite, Lake Angelus, Michigan
- 1980 Dave Chapin, Island Bay, Illinois
- 1981 Greg Fisher, Columbus, Ohio
- 1982 Jeff Evans, Island Bay, Illinois
- 1983 Dick Mitchell, Columbus, Ohio
- 1984 Paul Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1985 Rick Wood, Portage Lakes, Ohio
- 1986 Greg Fisher, Columbus, Ohio
- 1987 Jeff Evans, Island Bay, Illinois
- 1988 Steve Callison, Columbus, Ohio
- 1989 Steve Callison, Columbus, Ohio
- 1990 Rick Wood, Portage Lakes, Ohio
- 1991 Fred Rozelle, Detroit, Michigan
- 1992 Rick Wood, Portage Lakes, Ohio
- 1993 Kirk Donaldson, Barton Boat Club
- 1994 Rick Wood, Portage Lakes, Ohio
- 1995 Kirk Donaldson, Barton Boat Club
- 1996 Alex Pline, Severn Sailing Association
- 1997 Jeff Evans, Island Bay Yacht Club
- 1998 Bob Rowland, Cowan Lake Sailing Association
- 1999 Greg Fisher, Hoover Yacht Club

- 2000 Lee Sackett, Mentor Harbor Yacht Club 2001 Chad Coberly, Gull Lake Yacht Club 2002 Lee Sackett, Mentor Harbor Yacht Club 2003 Lee Sackett, Mentor Harbor Yacht Club 2004 Mike Blackwood, South Shore Yacht Club 2005 Mike Blackwood, South Shore Yacht Club 2006 Mike Blackwood, South Short Yacht Club 2007 Chad Coberly, Gull Lake Yacht Club 2008 Troy & Haley Tolan, Milwaukee 2009 Mike Blackwood, Gull Lake 2010 2011 Jno Dish, Cleveland 2012 Jno Disch, Cleveland 2013 Jno Disch, Cleveland 2014 Jno Disch, Cleveland 2015 Jno Disch, Cleveland 2016 Jno Disch, Cleveland 2017 Joe Norton, Green Lake Yacht Club 2018 John Crookston
- 2020 Cancelled
- 2021 Jno Dish, Cleveland

Jno Disch, Cleveland

2022 Cancelled

2019