Commodore Owen E. Duffy Memorial Trophy and historical Valspar Perpetual Trophy

Valspar Perpetual Trophy

Emblematic of: Junior Championship of the United States

1937	A. M. Deacon, Western Long Island Sound, New York
1938	James Cochran, Clearwater, Florida
1939	John Salmond, Jr., Los Angeles, California
1940	Kenneth Heitman, Lake Mohawk, New Jersey
1941	Steve Bechtel, Jr., Lake Merritt, California
1942	Bruce Jamieson, Dallas, Texas
1945	Pierre Havre, Lake Merritt, California
1946	Bob Carrick, Lake Merritt, California
1947	David Lundquist, Lake Chautauqua, New York
1948	Danny Elliott, Alamitos Bay, California
1949	Dick Moran, Chautauqua Lake, New York
1950	Danny Elliott, Alamitos Bay, California
1951	Morris Whitney, Clearwater, Florida
1952	Morris Whitney Clearwater Florida

The Valspar trophy was retired in 1952 in favor of the Duffy Memorial Trophy

Commodore Owen E. Duffy Memorial Trophy

Emblematic of: Junior Championship of the United States

Donated by: Subscription by members of SCIRA

Owned by: SCIRA

<u>Awarded to</u>: Fleet of which the winning junior skipper is a member

Open to: Any number of junior skippers with junior crews from any Divisional Fleet

of the USA, or possessions who

regularly owns and skippers his boat, and who has participated in 5 official

point score races during the season.

A junior is a boy or girl not year 20 years old on December 31in the year in

which he is competing. Late

registration is permitted for junior skippers by payment of a late

registration fee of \$20.00. Juniors who wish to

sail and have not joined the Class at the time of the Championship may do

so by paying the current dues and paying the late registration fee.

Regatta Conditions:

- 1. **2-5 races**
- Length of course at least 4 miles
- 3. Not more than 3 turning marks with judges at each mark
- 4. Skippers and officials meeting before start of 1st race
- 5. Regatta must be sanctioned by SCIRA at least 3 weeks prior to 1st race

Trophy Responsibility and Conditions:

Name of boat, skipper and year engraved. To be held by winner's fleet until the succeeding year, returnable to the Executive Director, SCIRA or as directed.

Revision of Deed of Gift:

By agreement of donor and SCIRA Board of Governors

- 1953 Tom Frost, Newport Beach, California
- 1954 Billy Roberts, Chattanooga, Tennessee
- 1955 Billy Roberts, Chattanooga, Tennessee
- 1956 Jerry Thompson, Alamitos Bay, California
- 1957 Stewart Brown, Balitmore, Maryland
- 1958 Kenneth Lippincott, Jr., Clearwater, Florida
- 1959 Leslie Larson, Chautauqua, New York
- 1960 Bruce Cochran, Clearwater, Florida
- 1961 Greg Harris, Mission Bay, California
- 1962 Scott Allan, Newport Harbor, California
- 1963 Scott Allan, Newport Harbor, California
- 1964 Don Flaherty, Clearwater, Florida
- 1965 Alvin Bugbee, Chautauqua, New York
- 1966 Mark Hesselschwerdt, Grand Rapids, Michigan
- 1967 Mark Hesselschwerdt, Grand Rapids, Michigan
- 1968 Alex Kimball, Alamitos Bay, California
- 1969 Augie Diaz, Miami, Florida
- 1970 Augie Diaz, Miami, Florida
- 1971 Jerry Stewart, Mission Bay, California
- 1972 Jerry Stewart, Mission Bay, California
- 1973 Craig Martin, Mission Bay, California
- 1974 Joe Petrucci, Winthrop, Massachusetts
- 1975 David Chapin, Island Bay, Illinois
- 1976 Harry Levinson, Indianapolis, Indiana
- 1977 David Chapin, Island Bay, Illinois
- 1978 Randy Smith, Mission Bay, California
- 1979 John Shadden, Alamitos Bay, California
- 1980 John Shadden, Alamitos Bay, California

- 1981 John Irvine, Cowan Lake, Ohio
- 1982 Steve Bloemeke, Alamitos Bay, California
- 1983 Scott Lindley, Mission Bay, California
- 1984 Shawn Burke, Lake Lanier, Georgia
- 1985 Scott Lindley, Mission Bay, California
- 1986 James Bowers, Winchester, Massachusetts
- 1987 Scott Rowland, Cowan Lake, Ohio
- 1988 Brad Rodi, Mission Bay, California
- 1989 RD Burley, Miami, Florida
- 1990 Steve Lippincott, St. Petersburg, Florida
- 1991 Sarah Deeds, Birmingham, Michigan
- 1992 Mark Ivey, Alamitos Bay, California
- 1993 Mark Ivey, Alamitos Bay, California
- 1994 Sebastian Casalaina, San Francisco, California
- 1995 Sebastian Casalaina, San Francisco, California
- 1996 Dustin Kays, Atlanta, Georgia
- 1997 Dustin Kays, Atlanta, Georgia
- 1998 Steve Hochart, Mission Bay, California
- 1999 Brian Haines, San Diego, California
- 2000 Bryan Lake, San Diego, California
- 2001 Not sailed
- 2002 Mikee Anderson-Mitterling, San Diego, California
- 2003 Robert Ramirez, Miami, Florida
- 2004 Zach Brown, San Diego, California
- 2005 Brian Kamilar, Miami, Florida
- 2006 Tyler Sinks, San Diego, California
- 2007 Tyler Sinks, San Diego, California
- 2008 Nick Voss, Miami, Florida
- 2009 Raul Rios de Choudens, Jr., Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
- 2010 Nick Voss, Miami, Florida
- 2011 Raul Rios de Choudens, Jr., Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
- 2012 Raul Rios de Choudens, Jr., Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
- 2013 Raul Rios de Choudens, Jr., Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
- 2014 Raul Rios de Choudens, Jr., Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
- 2015 Scott Sinks, San Diego, California
- 2016 Christian Filter, Annapolis, Maryland
- 2017 Robby Gearon, Boston, Massachusetts
- 2018 Christian Filter, Annapolis, Maryland
- 2019 Tyler Mowry, Annapolis, Maryland
- 2020 Not held

2021 Diego Escobar, Mission Bay, CA

2022 Justin Callahan, Biscayne Bay, FL