## SSA Members Pline/Couranz Repeat as Women's Snipe National Champions

A handful of talented women sailors headed to San Diego Yacht Club to sail in the February 21-22 Snipe Women's U.S. National Championship, held concurrently with the Women's Snipe Challenge. The Annapolis teams of Lisa Pline/Kim Couranz (defending champs), Holly O'Hare/Fran Clemens, and Joni Palmer/Meredith Dodd enjoyed the challenging competition offered by the 29-boat fleet, the largest ever in Women's Nationals history. The fleet included three previous national women's Snipe champions and a world women's Snipe champion, and women from all corners of the country—and Japan.

Most of the teams flew in to San Diego Thursday afternoon or Friday morning, which left Friday afternoon for boat preparation (21 of the 29 teams in the regatta were sailing in borrowed boats—thanks to all the San Diegans who loaned their boats out!), a bit of on-the-water practice, and an "Egoscue" fitness clinic (along the lines of yoga/Pilates) on the yard at SDYC. The competitors enjoyed a cocktail reception and dinner up the street at Fiddler's Green.

Saturday's three races brought conditions that kept the competitors on their toes—shifty and building from 8-10 in the first two races to 14-16 in the third race. Windward-leeward courses were sailed right off downtown San Diego. Racing was tight and Pline/Couranz were happy to sail away from the day in first place with finishes of 5, 1, and 3, two points ahead of second place.

SDYC hosted a fun Saturday evening for the competitors that featured great food, fun friends, and even a mariachi band (as Lisa said, "We're not in Annapolis anymore, Toto!"). The forecast for Sunday was ominous...rain and wind—and lots of both!

The Race Committee decided to sail the fleet closer to SDYC on Sunday because of the forecast for potential thunderstorms. But instead of the 15-20 knots that was being forecast, the fleet floated around in very light and very shifty winds for about two hours before things settled down enough for the RC to start a race. Unfortunately, about halfway through the course, the wind shifted about 100 degrees and then shut off (and it rained...hard), the RC abandoned racing for the day, and the results stood as they were (www.sdyc.org/raceinfo/sniperesults.htm).

Pline/Couranz are the only skipper/crew team to win the regatta two times. One other skipper (with a different crew each time) has won the regatta twice, however, and that is Carol Cronin—who just qualified for the Olympics in the Yngling/women's keelboat. Lisa, you're following in big shoes!

The Wayback Machine - https://web.archive.org/web/20041209092645/http://www.sdyc.org:80/raceinfo/sniperesults.htm

## 2004 Women's Snipe Nationals and Snipe Women's Challenge

February 21 & 22, 2004

## **Final Results**

Place	#	Sail # - Skipper	Crew	Club	Race 1	Race 2	Race 3	Total
1	33	29147 - Lisa Pline	Kim Couranz	SSA	5	1	3	9
2	28	28955 - Carolyn Brown Krebs	Laurel O'Neill	MBYC	3	3	5	11
3	37	29222 - Megan Magill	Anna Brun	SDYC	7	2	4	13
4	16	29957 - Stacey Szabo	Julie Mitchell	SDYC	1	13	1	15
5	26	29315 - Julie Redler	Sherry Eldridge	MBYC	4	7	8	19
6	31	29104 - Blaire Herron	Jerelyn Biehl	SDYC	13	6	2	21
7	32	28467 - Kirsten Cummings	Diana Carter	MBYC	6	12	7	25
8	30	28687 - Aine McLean	Lynn Sinks	MBYC	2	11	19	32
9	34	29687 - Lisa Griffith	Andrea Griffith		12	8	12	32
10	25	28702 - Laura Jeffers	Sherry Welch	SPYC	17	5	11	33
11	36	29112 - Holly O'Hare	Fran Clemens	AYC	8	9	16	33
12	29	29439 - Alex Brown	Joanne O'Dea	MBYC	11	10	17	38
13	20	29614 - Bridgit Hallawell	Shelly Suarez	SDYC	22	4	13	39
14	13	29646 - Aimee Graham	Marcy Girard	MBYC	14	20	6	40
15	19	29108 - Karen Butler	Roberta Stewart	SDYC	19	15	14	48
16	35	29941 - Ruth Paulling	Nancy Davidson	ABYC	23	16	10	49
17	11	29780 - Abigail Ahmanson	Julie Calvert	ABYC	24	17	9	50
18	12	28852 - Angela Schedel	Hillary Thompson	MBYC	20	14	18	52
19	18	30236 - Kay Filpatrick	Lynne Fitzpatrick	CGSC	10	18	25	53
20	39	29240 - Fiona McLean	Hillary Shapiro	SWYC	21	19	15	55
21	27	29242 - Colleen Cooke	Sue Michos	SWYC	15	21	23	59
22	21	29637 - Miki Isobe	Ayako Takahashi		9	30 dsq	22	61
23	15	29114 - Morgan Commette	Sheehan Commette		16	23	24	63
24	17	29014 - Amy Thompson	Brett Bradshaw	AtlYC	25	24	20	69
25	24	29694 - Andrea Sepanski	Mary Geiger	CSA	18	22	30 dnf	70
26	38	29811 - Joni Palmer	Meredith Dodd	SPYC	27	30 dnf	21	78

27	23	2910 - Laura Stamets	Megan Johnson		29	25	26	80
28	22	29552 - Ava Moore	Kate Gringas	RYC	26	30 dnf	30 dnc	86
29	14	29905 - Katy Towles	Kelly Loomis		28	30 dnf	30 dnc	88

Created by <u>Regatta Scoring Solutions</u>