for

## District II Regatta Series Top Fleet

Emblematic of:	Top Fleet in SCIRA District II in Regatta Series	-	
Donated by:	Fleets of District II		
<u>Owned by</u> :	District II		
Awarded to:	Top Placing Fleet in Regatta Series		
<u>Open to</u> :	Scoring All SCIRA Fleets with SCIRA members in good standing belonging to a fleet	Est Reg Rest Actions	
Trophy Responsibility and Conditions:	in District II. Winning Fleet Captain is responsible		
Tophy responsibility and conditions.	for engraving. Trophy must be returned in good condition in time presentation the following year at the District II Championship Regatta.		
Revision of Deed of Gift:	By donors		

## History:

- In 2015, Will Thomas of the Lincoln Snipe Fleet #567 had an idea to increase regatta participation between their fleet and the INSA Fleet #310. Mary Buckley, also with the Lincoln fleet, suggested that it should be extended to District II.
- Initially, it was decided that District II Governor would designate up to six regattas throughout the season that would make up the District II Series. A scoring system that rewards Fleets based on the number of boats participating in the regattas and how they finished was developed by Mary Buckley. Initially, the scoring system was each boat would receive points for their Fleet equal to total boats in regatta minus her finishing position. In addition, one bonus point would be awarded to each Fleet for each boat from that Fleet that participated in each regatta. Bow Mar Fleet #640 won the Top Fleet for the first year and was tasked to come up with a trophy. The trophy was designed by Bow Mar Commodore Mike Slouka and built by Fantastic Sailing Trophies in Australia.
- In 2015, Bow Mar Fleet #640 also decided to further encourage boats to participate in all the District II Series regattas, to create a trophy to be awarded to the top skipper in the District II Regatta Series. All skippers were scored in the series awarding points for their finish in every regatta, including a DNC (number of boats in regatta + 1) if not sailed. (See separate Deed of Gift)
- In 2016, the need arose for a tie-breaker. It was established that the first tie breaker will be the fleet with the most boats participating in all the regattas. If the number of boats doesn't break the tie, then the tie will be broken like it's broken in a regatta, comparing best finishes.
- In 2018, the scoring was changed to award 3 bonus points for each traveling boat, while still awarding 1 point per boat to the local fleet.
- In 2019, criteria was added stating the skipper and the boat must be registered with SCIRA to be awarded points, but not the crew.
- In 2021, at a District meeting in November, prior to the 2022 season, it was decided that each recognized fleet in the District hosting a regatta, or promoting a regatta if they didn't host their own, would count in the series if the regatta drew at least five (5) Snipes. In addition, due to their greater distance from the other regattas, both Snipe regattas hosted by Dallas Fleet #1 would count.

YEAR	Fleet	YEAR	Fleet
2015	Bow Mar Fleet #640	2019	Rocky Mountain Fleet #210
2016	Bow Mar Fleet #640	2020	Not awarded
2017	Rocky Mountain Fleet #210	2021	Rocky Mountain Fleet #210
2018	Rocky Mountain Fleet #210	2022	Dallas Fleet #001