## **District 1 Championship - Lake Mohawk Trophy**

**Emblematic of:** Individual championship of SCIRA District 1 and North Atlantic Coast

Championship

**Donated by**: Arthur D. Crane Company

Owned by: SCIRA USA

Awarded to: Winning skipper

**Open to**: All SCIRA members in good standing and belonging to a fleet in District 1. If the

event is sailed in combination with another regatta that is open to sailors from outside District 1 all competitors shall be current members in good standing with SCIRA. The title of District 1 Champion and custody of the trophy shall be

awarded to the top placing member of District 1.

**Regatta Conditions**: Sailed on the waters of District 1. Regatta date and location to be selected by

the District Governor. At least 3 races; SCIRA approved courses; the same

skipper must sail all races; crews may be changed.

<u>Trophy Responsibility and Conditions</u>: Winning skipper is responsible for engraving. Trophy must be returned in good

condition in time for presentation the following year. Each year medals will be

provided for permanent possession of winning skipper and his crew.

**Revision of Deed of Gift**: By agreement of District 1 and SCIRA Board of Governors

1933	Charles Gabor, Lake Mohawk	1967	Bruce Lockwood, Quassapaug, Connecticut
1934	P. Benson, Jr., Sea Cliff	1968	Terry Cronberg, Winchester, Massachusetts
1935	George Becker, Jr., Sea Cliff	1969	Terry Cronberg, Winchester, Massachusetts
1936	A.M. Deacon, Western LI Sound	1970	Rick Bowe, Annapolis, Maryland
1937	A.M. Deacon, Western LI Sound	1971	Rick Bowe, Annapolis, Maryland
1938	Charles Gabor, Lake Mohawk	1972	Ralph Swanson, Winchester, Massachusetts
1939	Albert Thuerer, Lake Mohawk	1973	Norm Towle, Winchester, Massachusetts
1940	Charles Gabor, Lake Mohawk	1974	Tom Legere, Winchester, Massachusetts
1941	C.E. Williams, Budd Lake	1975	Tom Legere, Winchester, Massachusetts
1942	Heinzerling Brothers, Lake Lackawanna	1976	Norm Towle & David Lence, Winchester,
1943	Ernest Coleman, Newport YC		Massachusetts
1944	no record	1977	Norm Towle &Beth Towle, Winchester,
1945	Victor Larson, Chautauqua Lake		Massachusetts
1946	Ernest Coleman, Newport YC	1978	Norm Towle & Ned Towle, Winchester,
1947	Eric Hauschild, Lake Mohawk		Massachusetts
1948	John F. Stillmun, Jr., Money Island, NY	1979	Steve Callison & Gene Chiaramonte, Annapolis,
1949	John F. Stillmun, Jr., Money Island, NY		Maryland
1950	John F. Stillmun, Jr., Money Island, NY	1980	Norm Towle & Chris Towle, Winchester,
1951	Ray Kaufman, City Island, NY		Massachusetts
1952	Beth Olson, Beachwood, NJ	1981	Steve Callison & Mike Bochenski, Annapolis,
1953	Beth Olson, Beachwood, NJ		Maryland
1954	Beth Olson, Beachwood, NJ	1982	Ed Adams & Meredith Adams, Narragansett Bay,
1955	Ray Kaufman, Eastchester Bay, NY		Rhode Island
1956	Arthur Karpf, Eastchester Bay, NY	1983	Ed Adams & Meredith Adams, Narragansett Bay,
1957	John Wolcott, Quassapaug, Connecticut		Rhode Island
1958	Harry Allen, Quassapaug, Connecticut	1984	Ed Adams & Meredith Adams, Narragansett Bay,
1959	Ken Cook, Winchester, Massachusetts		Rhode Island
1960	Tom St. John, Quassapaug, Connecticut	1985	Ed Adams & Meredith Adams, Narragansett Bay,
1961	Ray Kaufman, Manhasset Bay, NY		Rhode Island
1962	Ray Kaufman, Manhasset Bay, NY	1986	Doug Wefer & Kris Meyer, Sea Cliff, New York
1963 tie	e Ray Kaufman, Manhasset Bay	1987	Doug Clark & Scott Taylor, Annapolis, Maryland
	Bob Longnecker, Lake Mohawk	1988	Henry Filter & Deborah Lawson, Cottage Park,
1964	Tom Legere, Winchester, Massachusetts		Massachusetts
1965	Tom Legere, Winchester, Massachusetts	1989	Bryan Fishback & Lorie Stout, Annapolis, Maryland
1966	John Hurley, Wessagusett, Maine		

1990	Doug Clark & Margaret Podlich, Annapolis, Maryland	2006	Harry Levinson & Katie Levinson, Winchester Boat Club
1991	Doug Clark & Scott Taylor, Annapolis, Maryland	2007	Jim Bowers & Kate Henderson, Winchester Boat
1992	Andrew Pimental & Carol Newman, Narragansett		Club
	Bay, Rhode Island	2008	Henry Filter & Christian Filter, Severn Sailing
1993	Doug Clark & Alex Stout, Annapolis, Maryland		Association
1994	Doug Clark & Alex Stout, Annapolis, Maryland	2009	Andrew Klein & Michelle Morphew, Winchester
1995	Ed Adams & Carol Newman, Narragansett Bay,		Boat Club
	Rhode Island	2010	Jim Bowers & Andrea Nilsen, Winchester Boat Club
1996	Doug Clark & Marci Gerard, Annapolis	2011	Austin Kana & Dan Thompson, Tred Avon YC
1997	Jim Bowers & Scott Tarpley, Winchester Boat Club	2012	Jim Bowers & Andrea Nilsen, Winchester Boat Club
1998	Lee Griffith & Lisa Griffith, Surf City NJ	2013	Carol Cronin & Kim Couranz, Narragansett Bay
1999	Henry Filter & Lorie Stout, Annapolis	2014	Eric Reinke & Sandy Westphal, Annapolis
2000	Hal Gilreath & Ned Jones, Medford	2015	Jim Bowers & Alex Bowers, Winchester Boat Club
2001	Henry Filter & Lorie Stout, Annapolis	2016	Jim Bowers & Andy Bowers, Winchester Boat Club
2002	Jim Bowers & Myrna Chan-MacRae, Winchester	2017	Cameron Fraser & Elizabeth Glivinski, Medford
	Boat Club		Boat Club
2003	Jim Bowers & Myrna Chan-MacRae, Winchester	2018	Jim Bowers & Julia Marsh Rabin, Winchester Boat
	Boat Club		Club
2004	Augie Diaz & Lisa Griffith, Coconut Grove Sailing	2019	Arthur Blodgett & Charlie Bess, Lauderdale YC
	Club	2020	Not held due to COVID-19
2005	Hal Gilreath & James Liebel, Jacksonville Yacht Club	2021	Not held due to COVID-19
		2022	Canceled due to Hurricane Ian