

GTYC MIDDLE DISTANCE RACE AROUND THE ISLAND CLOCKWISE SATURDAY, JUNE 18, 2022

ORGANIZING AUTHORITY - GRAND TRAVERSE YACHT CLUB

SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

1 - RULES

1.1 - The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in the *Racing Rules of Sailing* (RRS).

2 - ELIGIBILITY, ENTRY, & FEES

- 2.1 All yachts which sailed by GTYC members, or have previously participated in GTYC sailing events, are welcome.
- 2.2 Competitors must declare an intention to participate by e-mailing Jordan Owen at io@gtyc.org or calling/texting 231.883.5741.
- 2.3 If less than four yachts register an intent to race by 1900 hrs, Friday, June 17th, the race may be cancelled
- 2.4 All competitors are required to provide a contact phone number will receive text messages
- 2.5 There is no entry fee. This is a free event.

4 -- SCORING

- 4.1 Monohulls will be scored as one fleet, with race results determined by order of finish, with the PHRF time-on-distance handicap taken at the start with assigned start times for each competitor.
- 4.2 Multihulls will be scored separately with race results determined by order of finish, with the PHRF time-on-distance handicap taken at the start with assigned start times for each competitor

5 - SCHEDULE

Day	Date	Time	Event	Location
Saturday	6/18	1045	First Warning,	GTYC
			Committee on Station	

- 6 -- START -- This is a "Pursuit" race, utilizing a "Bermuda Start" sequence. PHRF time on distance ratings will be used to determine starting times (see Attachment "A") to apply the yacht's handicap at the beginning of the race. GPS Time will serve as the official race time. See "Attachment A" for start times if not listed, the Race Committee will inform you of your designated start time in their acknowledgement of your communication of the intent to race.
- 6.1 The start will be a gate between two inflatable ball marks approximately .5 nm east of the GTYC clubhouse
- 6.2 Procedure for Postponement of Starting Sequence The Race Committee may declare a postponement in starting sequence in one hour increments if conditions do not allow for participating yachts to make sufficient progress on the course. The Race Committee will make an announcement by VHF Radio at 1045 race if there is a postponement. In case of postponement, start times will be delayed in one hour increments. (Example: If at 10 am, the Race Committee declares a postponement the start times will move one hour forward (if Yacht X has a start time of 1108, their start time would move forward to 1208 hrs) If the start sequence is not engaged at the 1000 hrs announcement, the Race Committee will make subsequent announcements every 30 minutes as to the status of the sequence.
- **7 FINISH** The finish will be a gate between two inflatable ball marks approximately .5 nm east of the GTYC clubhouse
- 7.1 Finish times, yacht ahead & yacht behind must be noted and available at the request of the Race Committee

8 – COURSE (15.3 nm)

- 1. Traveling south to north, start between the two inflatable balls that form a gate approximately .5 nm east of the GTYC clubhouse
- 2. Red "8" to Port
- 3. Green C "7" to Port
- 4. Red N "6" to Starboard
- 5. Red N "2" (Bassett Island) to Starboard
- 6. Power Island proper to Starboard
- 7. Red "8" to Starboard
- 8. Traveling north to south, finish between between the two inflatable balls that form a gate approximately .5 nm east of the GTYC clubhouse traveling north to south
- **9 SIGNALS MADE ASHORE** Will be communicated to competitors over VHF Channel 69. If you have any question regarding the status of a race, call the Race Chair @ 231.883.5741

10 - REGATTA CONTACT

TITLENAMEPHONE/TEXTEMAILRegatta ChairJordan Owen231.883.5741jo@gtyc.org

End of Sailing Instructions

Name	PHRF	Start		
FishTales II	-21	12:05:21	Mike Fisher	NM55
Relentless	-6	12:01:30	Mark Hagan	Shock 40
Old School	27	11:53:07	Adam Prettyman	Farr 395
Driven 2	66	11:43:10	Jim Milliken	J/109
Beneteau 36.7	75	11:40:52		Beneteau 36.7
Liberty	78	11:40:17	Scott Porter	Dehler 39
Melges 24	90	11:37:24		
Hobie 33	93	11:36:17	Chad Brown	Hobie 33
X Wing (cat.)	98	11:35:00	Bob Sagan	Hobie 18
Wicked	105	11:33:13	Tom Young	Tartan 4100 TMSD
Knockout	111	11:31:42	Libby Tomlinson	J/92
Hope	111	11:31:42	Dan Dingeman	Alerion 41
TFWB Relentless	120	11:29:24	George Petritz	J/29 MHIB
Spyke	120	11:29:24	Dan Spyhalski	Cal 40
CuMal	123	11:28:38	Clarke Phelps	J/34c
Rights of Mann	153	11:17:55	Sam Bender	Sabre 34
Wasabi	163	11:18:26	Jon Bevington	Catalina 303
Big Red	180	11:14:52	DeWayne McCave	Ranger 29
Flying Squirrel	195	11:10:16	Mark Lyons	Albin Alpha 29
2nd Chance	198	11:10:30	Tom Booth	Seidelmann 299
Blest 2	201	11:08:45	John Lynch	Catalina 303
Outrageous	204	11:07:59	Rich Kramer	Islander Bah. 30
Υ	207	11:07:13	Devereaux Trepp	S2 6.9
CRUISERS		11:00:00		